for each, and the third of which is composed of a chancellor and three judges. Quebec—The Chief Justice of the King's Bench and five puisne judges, and the Chief Justice of the Superior Court and twenty-nine puisne judges, whose residences are fixed in various parts of the province. Nova Scotia and New Brunswick—The Chief Justice of the Supreme Court, the Judge in Equity and five and four puisne judges respectively. Manitoba—The Chief Justice and four puisne judges. British Columbia—The Chief Justice and two assistant judges. Prince Edward Island—The Chief Justice and two assistant judges. In the North-west Territories—The Chief Justice and five puisne judges of the Supreme Court. The Yukon Territory has a Territorial Court constituted under the Federal Act of 1898. It consists of two judges.

There are also county courts with variously limited jurisdiction in all the provinces, excepting in Quebec and in the North-west Territories. Police magistrates and justices appointed by the provincial governments have their place in the administration of justice.

The Mounted Police Force in the North-west Territories constitute a tribunal of justice, the Commissioner and the Assistant Commissioner having all the powers of a stipendiary magistrate, and the superintendents being ex-officio justices of the peace.

Part of the unorganized territories came into possession of Canada by virtue of the Queen's Order of June 23, 1870 (see Statutes of Canada, 1872, p. lxiii) and part by virtue of the Queen's Order of 21st July, 1880 (see Statutes of Canada, 1881, pp. ix., x).

As to the portion of the unorganized territory which was by the Queen's Order of 23rd June, 1870, transferred to the Dominion, it may be taken that the law of England as it stood on 2nd May, (o.s.), 1670—the date of the Hudson's Bay Company's charter—applies, subject only to such ordinances as were enacted in references thereto by the Hudson's Bay Company.

With respect to the other unorganized territories, the title to which was acquired under the Queen's Order of 21st July, 1880, the Order itself states that such territory shall become and be subject to the laws for the time being in force in the Dominion in so far as applicable to such territories.

By Chap. 47, Federal Acts of 1899, offences committed in any part of Canada east of the province of Manitoba and the district of Keewatin and north of the provinces of Ontario and Quebec may be tried within the provinces mentioned, the provincial courts of criminal jurisdiction being constituted courts with competent powers.

The following is a list of the Governors General and Governors of the several provinces before confederation, together with the years of office.